Repurpose Project: Ugly Desk

Repurpose Project: Ugly Desk

Yesterday in my Thrift Store Haul post, I mentioned an ugly grey and blue desk that I bought for $5.99. Well, here it is. It might not look TOO terrible in the photo but the paint is SO heavy and there’s even a layer of brown paint underneath this, and then a layer of white under that. And then you finally get down to the brown wood which is its original color.

The two drawers down the side were jammed shut because of the paint. I knew my dad could fix it though, and he did. And then we spent all afternoon chiselling the paint off and sanding it. We’re only halfway done that though; as I said, there is a LOT of paint to come off. We had a really nice afternoon working together on this and talking. πŸ™‚

I’m still so excited about what the end result will be. Isn’t it a perfect desk for a makeup vanity? I’ll be able to keep my makeup in the top drawer and maybe keep hair products and hand lotions in the other two drawers.

9 thoughts on “Repurpose Project: Ugly Desk

    1. I can hardly wait to finish it! I’m hoping to have some more thrifting luck by finding the perfect mirror and stool to go with it!

      Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

    1. I’m planning on painting it white; I really like white furniture to decorate with! And I’m brand new at chiselling paint off, so I’ve knicked it a lot. Plus, a lot of the brown and grey paint I can’t get completely off. I didn’t realize how old fashioned this desk was until I got down to the original wood though- I love it! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for reading!

      1. Sounds great! I also love white furniture cause you can add all sorts of brightly coloured ornaments, throws, cushions, mats etc to colour it up … Or just keep it completely minimalist and plain white πŸ™‚

  1. Fair play for doing it yourself, you’ll appreciate it so much more when you’re using it since you put so much work in. I built my desk (well, built might be stretching it, it was flat packed) so there’s a great sense of achievement every time I’m using it.

    1. Yeah, I never realized how big of a job it was going to be until I started it. I naively thought I’d have it all painted today. Nope. Not even done half the sanding, lol.

      Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

