90s Trends Making a Comeback…

90s Trends Making a Comeback...

Tonight I was scrolling through Call It Spring’s site, and they had new JELLY SHOES in stock.

What?

Wasn’t the first time bad enough?

Okay, okay, I admit it. I did have a pair of jelly shoes. And I did lose one in the river. And I did love them. But I was, maybe, nine.

And now they’re selling these in a WOMEN’S shoe store. What?

So, because of that, here is my ode to the trends of the 90s that are coming back and who wore it better.

 

Trend 1 – Jelly Shoes

Here are 2014’s jelly shoes…

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.43.40 PM

And here are the 90’s jelly shoes…

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.31.52 PM

 

So who wore them better? When I first started writing this post (less than five minutes ago), I was a firm believer that Jelly Shoes should have been left in the 90s. But then I saw these pictures of girls with brightly painted toe nails wearing jelly shoes and it actually looked…cute. So the winner of this battle goes to 2014.

 

Trend Two – Weird, Strappy Sandals

Here is the 2014 version of the weird, strappy sandals…

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.26.34 PM

And here is the 90s version of them…

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.32.31 PM

The winner? Neither, both are hideous. Especially with socks. Plus, they make your feet look long and awkward.

 

Trend Three – Crop Tops

Here is the 2014 version…

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.28.16 PM

And here is the 2000s version (oops…not 90s, sorry!)…

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.30.04 PM

The winner? 2014. The new style of crop tops are made of nicer material, they have more flattering cuts/necklines, and there are more styles of them to choose from.

 

Trend Four – Fanny Packs

Here is the 2014 version of them…

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.35.35 PM

And here is the 90s version…

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 10.33.35 PM

Who wore it better? It’s a tie! Granted, the 90s ones were a lot bigger and awkward looking, but that was part of their appeal. Honestly, I am a huge fan of fanny packs…they’re one of my favorite things to travel with. You can guard your valuables easier than using a backpack because the pack is either right in front of your belly, or you can sling it and wear it right under your arm. I’ve travelled to several different countries with neon color fanny packs and I have no regrets; YOLO. ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t even know these were coming back into style again until I was browsing on American Eagle earlier tonight…and I was SO EXCITED when I saw them on there!! But whether they’re new ones or old ones, it doesn’t matter to me because they’re practical, goofy, and fun!

What are some other 90s trends that are making a come back?

 

13 thoughts on “90s Trends Making a Comeback…

    1. I know what you mean!
      And also having the next generation of a show you’ve grown up with come on tv. Like Boy Meets World and Girl Meets World. And also Degrassi High and Degrassi The Next Generation!

      Thanks for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. They were my go to shoe as a kid when I though they were “rad”, not any more. They will go out of style very quickly again and hopefully they will be gone.

Leave a Reply

