DIY Glitter Shoes!

Hi everyone!

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 9.24.02 PM

After an extended hiatus, I have returned to the beauty blogging world! It’s good to be back. I hope to reconnect with some old blogging buddies and to establish some new blogging friendships!

Anyway, probably almost nine months or more ago, I purchased an old, beat up pair of Aldo black high heels. They were really rough looking, but they were from Aldo and they were nice heels despite how rough they looked. Plus, they were only $6, so I bought them with the intent to DIY them.

Eight months passed. The shoes didn’t get DIYed.

Then, a good friend of mine invited me to a Christmas banquet with him. I had been looking high and low for the perfect pair of glitter high heels. But, alas, I could not find the PERFECT pair. Most glitter high heels were either yellow gold (which I don’t like the look of) or super, super expensive. So I got to the point where I decided if I wanted the perfect pair of glitter heels, I had to make them myself.

I went to Michael’s and bought Martha Stewart Crafts Decoupage glue and sealer 118 ml, Recollections Extra Fine Glitter in Champagne, and Martha Stewart Metallic Acrylic Paint (not pictured).

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 9.33.33 PM

I completely over estimated how much glitter I would need. I bought two bottles of the 42.5g glitter. I only used about half of ONE of the bottles. I ended up returning the second bottle I got. The glitter was a little under $8 and the glue was around $7. The paint was probably about $3 and something.

It would be best to do this DIY outside as glitter is INCREDIBLY messy. It’s a week later, and there is still glitter on my floor. After doing the craft, I vacuumed the floor for about a half hour and still didn’t get all the glitter! So, as mentioned before, it’d be best to do the craft outside. But, I’m in eastern Canada in the winter so that’s not really a possibility. Brrr. Therefore, if you must do the craft inside, do it with a table cloth or a large piece of paper underneath you. Make sure there is a piece of paper directly under the shoes for the glitter to fall on. This is because once you’re done glittering your shoe, you can easily funnel the glitter off the paper and back into your bottle.

Another thing to keep in mind is that I did this DIY over the course of several days. This was to allow the glue and paint to dry well.

To start, I put a layer or two of paint on the shoes as a base. In hind sight, this might not be necessary to do as the glitter covers the shoes really well. I did have the outer sole of the shoe the metallic champagne color and didn’t add any glitter to that part. Let the paint sit for a bit until it’s dry then put another layer on the outer soles.

Now for the glitter part. I painted small sections of the shoe with the glue and then heavily sprinkled glitter onto the glue. I did the whole shoe in small sections. After you finish a section, shake the shoe to remove the loose glitter. Then, I let the shoes sit overnight with their first layer of glitter. The next day, I did the same thing over again; small section by sections – the glue and then the heavy glitter. Once again, I let the second layer sit over night.

On the third day, this is when you start sealing your glitter so it won’t fall off so bad once you start wearing them. I covered each shoe with one layer of the glue, let it dry for about an hour, and then covered it with a second layer of glue. After you left the second layer dry a second time, give the shoe a shake and see if any glitter falls off. If there’s still a lot falling off, do another layer of glue.

**EXTREMELY IMPORTANT: When you’re painting the shoes with glue, both before glittering and when sealing, make sure you’re using even brush strokes and not overusing glue. If you have streaky glue, your shoes will have glue seams and bumps. That’s not what we’re going for here! 🙂 Just a warning, because I tended to rush after the third day, and I ended up with a little bit of this. It wasn’t super noticeable though.

So I ended up wearing these shoes to the Christmas banquet, and I got SO many compliments on them! I was so proud of myself for finally doing a successful DIY (I’m not very crafty, lol). I love the way these shoes look — champagne gold glitter is so classy and pretty. I might have to touch them up a little because there seems to be one spot on one of my shoes that doesn’t have much glitter on it, but it’s an easy fix.

Hope this is helpful and that it inspires YOU to try this fun DIY! If you try it, let me know! I’d love to see pictures! 🙂

– Laura

Leave a Reply

