Thrifty Thursday: Bed Set

Hi lovelies!

On Thrifty Thursdays, I’ll share some of my favourite thrift finds with you all. To be honest though, my thrifting isn’t only limited to Thursday! 😀

This Thrifty Thursday is dedicated to my second hand bed set. Here it is:

Screen Shot 2014-12-18 at 3.05.54 PM

Everything you see in the above photo is second hand, except for the Tiger plushie (that was a past Christmas present from my sweet dad) and the actual pillows.

Here’s the breakdown of what all is included in this bed set, where I got it, and the prices.

First of all, I’m going to start with the mattress topper.

Screen Shot 2014-12-18 at 3.06.27 PM

You might not be able to tell, but there is a mattress topper on top of my bed’s two mattresses. The best way I can describe it is it’s like a pillow top cushion thing that covers the whole mattress. Kind of like another mattress, cept it’s super fluffy and it makes it feel like I’m sleeping on a cloud. I got this for a real deal at Value Village for $39.99. Brand new, I believe they’re over $100.

Next is the pink fitted sheet. This came from Value Village for $3.99. I also got the matching pink pillow cases from Value Village for $.99 each. The knitted chevron pattern blanket came from Value Village and was $6.99. The white sheet with pink polka dots I found at the Salvation Army for (I think) $2.99. It’s from Martha Stewart. The brown cushion came from Value Village and I believe it was $3.99 but I got it for half price on VV’s 50% off day. I also purchased the light brown knitted blanket on the foot of my bed from VV on 50% off day. It was regular $6.99 but I paid half of that. You can’t see it in the picture, but there’s a white dust ruffle thing around the bottom of my bed. It came from Value Village for probably around $3.99. Finally, the finishing touch of the bed set is the white down comforter. It is a Ralph Lauren one and I got it from Value Village for $40. I was able to wash it in the washing machine. I wasn’t as lucky with the mattress topper that I could fit it in the washing machine so I had to bleach wash it. Meaning, I put a little bit of bleach and a lot of water in a bucket together, dipped a rag in it, and then wiped down the mattress topper with the bleach water to make it nice and clean.

So there you have it, folks. My lovely thrifty bed set. It’s pretty much my dream bed and I only had a pay a fraction of what it would have cost brand new.

Let me know what you think! 🙂

– Laura

Leave a Reply

