August Top Box

Hello Lovelies!

Yesterday, I received my third Topbox!

IMG_0617

To get a better look at what’s inside, click below to continue reading! πŸ™‚

Here is what was inside:

IMG_0616

Marc Anthony Oil of Morocco Volume Hairspray – This humidity barrier, fast-drying formula prolongs colour life and gives all-day hold without stickiness, flaking or residue. Hair is left with incredible shine, expert hold and flexible restyling. This bottle is 53mls; a full size is 300ml and retails for $9.46. Despite the fact that this is a volumizing spray (and, trust me, that’s the last thing I need….), I do like Moroccan oil products, so I’ll probably use this, although I’d never go out to buy it at the store.

DERMADoctor KP Duty Dermatologist Formulated Aha Moisturizing Therapy for Dry Skin – Apply to clean, dry hands, body or feet. Gently massage into skin. Use twice a day or as needed. Wear a broad spectrum sunscreen 30 SPF daily. For best results, use in conjunction with the complete KP Duty skin care family. A full size of this costs $49.20 and is 118 ml. This one is about 30 ml. Sigh…another hand cream. I’m so tired of getting these in sub boxes. I have way too many that I never use.

Model Co SHINE Ultra Lip Gloss – Lend a luxe touch to your beauty look wit this reflective, shimmering gloss that glides on smoothly for a non-sticky, long lasting finish. 4ml. $20. This color is “Striptease”….I honestly don’t understand the obsession with trying to name makeup the raciest names possible. I removed the sticker from this one because I am not a fan of the name. But I think it’s really cool that this lipgloss has a mirror on the case. I actually will use this, although I would have never bought it had it not come in this bag.

Elizabeth Arden Flawless Future Powered by Ceramide Caplet Serum- This sheer lightweight liquid serum with micro-caplets helps reinforce skin’s essential moisture barrier, evens skin tone, retexturize, and reduces the appearance of first signs of aging. Rejuvenates the look of tired skin for a more energized complexion. 30 ml $72. Honestly, when I see items in sub boxes and the suggested retail price for them, I’m always skeptical. Because it seems to me like a lot of the products are low end brands that are masquerading as pricey, high end items (*cough cough* Model Co lipgloss *cough, cough*). But I’ve actually seen these Elizabeth Arden beads at Shopper’s Drug Mart….and they sure are expensive. So I was delighted to receive these in my bag. I tried one out tonight, and it was like heaven on my skin. Big fan of this so far. Will definitely use all these up.

I also received a fifth item in my bag – Tres Emme Perfectly Undone Waves Seafoam/Mousse. It seems like this might have been a little bonus because it wasn’t inside the actual bag, it was loose in the mail packaging. Maybe they sent it to me to make up for the time I complained about the hair products in my first bag, I don’t know. Did any of you receive this product? Anyway, this product sounds good in theory (because who doesn’t want undone, beachy waves?!) But unfortunately, my natural hair is so outrageously thick/wavy/curly/frizzy/out of control that I’m not comfortable wearing it down in it’s natural state, thus I would get no use out of this, I don’t think.

So overall, there’s one item I’m really excited to try….one item that I’ll use because I have it….and the rest are things I might TRY to use just so they’re not wasted. But I wouldn’t have actually bought any of these myself.

I did end up cancelling m Topbox subscription…because I’m cutting back on expenses for the next few months and because Topbox hasn’t been that great the past three months (aside from the Elizabeth Arden product this month and the Benefit They’re Real Liner last month). And I don’t love the abundance of hair care/skin care products they send out — I’d prefer more makeup. So, bye bye Topbox.

In a few months time though, I might be interested in trying another Canadian based beauty sub box. Any suggestions?

Let me know if you have any suggestions…and let me know what you got in your Topbox this month!

-L

9 thoughts on “August Top Box

      1. I just googled it and yes!!! They started in Canada!!!! It’s $10 a month but my friend said once you start reviewing their products you pay $5 a month! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

